Real Friends are working towards their third full-length album, Composure, and today we get to hear the emotional single “Smiling on the Surface,” the lead single from the record. (via Billboard)

Composure will release on July 13 via Fearless Records. Hear the song below.

The album details the struggles that Real Friends dealt with over the last year, including frontman Dan Lambton’s diagnosis with bipolar. The album was produced by Mike Green (Paramore, All Time Low) and will feature the singles “Get By” and “From the Outside.”

“We have never put this much time and effort into a record,” Real Friends bassist Kyle Fasel says. “Composure is everything we’ve always come up short on. We focused more on melodies than ever before. We focused more on the overall emotional climate of each song than ever before. I truly think that every song on the record stands on its own. But when all the songs come together it creates our best effort to date.”

Composure will release only a couple of weeks after Warped Tour kicks off on June 21.


1. Me First
2. Stand Steady
3. From The Outside
4. Smiling On The Surface
5. Hear What You Want
6. Unconditional Love
7. Composure
8. Get By
9. Ripcord
10. Take A Hint